Excuses

by

As my mom likes to put, “Excuses are reasons wrapped in a lie.” When trying to witness it is so easy to give in to excuses. I go through several probably everyday. I thought that I’d make a list of things I commonly think up so that other can add and so we can all come to realize them.

Picture yourself looking at another person you feel you should go talk to and your thinking:

Oh, they’re busy with something else. I’mtoo busy with something else that I need to do. People might have to wait on me if I talked to that person. He’s got ear buds on. I’m in a hurry. She’s talking to someone. I’d better not interrupt. He might be offended. He could be in a hurry. They might get really scared of me or something.

God wants us to reach the lost, but if we always make excuses or justify what we do, it won’t happen. Listen to God, and if he tells you to talk to someone or give them a tract, Do It! If you have other excuses that come to you, you could comment them, so that we can identify them more clearly.

Levi

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Excuses”

  1. Justin Says:

    The evangelist Ray Comfort calls those excuses that pop up “memos from Hell”. How appropriate!

  2. Christi Says:

    Ha! I was about to quote Ray Comfort too! Because yeah, I totally struggle with excuses/apathy/fear about witnessing too. But, it’s like this story that Ray Comfort and Kirk Cameron (yes, the actor from Left Behind and Fireproof – they do an incredible evangelism program together, called “The Way of the Master.” You’ve gotta check it out! http://Www.thewayofthemaster.com) like to tell in their evangelism course. Imagine there’s this firefighter, sitting in his fire truck, with headphones on. He’s listening to a CD, trying out the expensive new stereo system he bought as a gift for the fire chief. No big deal, right? Until you realize that just outside of the fire truck, a family is trapped inside their burning house. A mother jumps to her death out a window, her new baby still in her arms. The father is later found huddled with the older children, killed by the smoke and flames. They could have been saved, if only the firefighter had released the equipment and gone to resuce them. People are goin’ to Hell, guys! They’re dying in the flames every single day! We have the “hose.” we have the “fire extinguisher.” Whatever you want to call it. It’s more comfy in the cab of the fire engine, listening to music supposedly for the chief, but it’s our duty to rescue the dying people from the flames!!!!!

    BTW, I’m getting onto myself just as much if not more than anyone else here.

Leave a Reply

