Weekly devotional 2

by

History Maker says:

Grace gasps for air, as once again her lungs change from life giving
organs, to turgid muscle. Brian apologizes for the thousandth time, because he didn’t come to the meeting that would save his soul. James asks me to stop talking about religion, when I’m talking about the relationship he so desperately needs. I count the money I have as the time for my missions trip comes nearer and find that I’m still short.

All these worries and more tug at my heart. So often I bring them to God and tell Him, please, take care of this, this problem too God. A few hours later, I’m worrying again, I take back the problems, and try to think of a way to solve them. I’m a very independent person, so I’m used to doing things my way, but a lot of times, there’s things I just can’t take care of, there’s things I have to put in His more than capable hands.

So, there’s obviously some major problems I can’t handle, but what about the little problems, the things most people would think I *should* be able to handle? Should I give those to Him too? Or should I handle them myself?

Well, let’s think about it, let’s look at the Bible and see what God has to say about it, “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” (1 Peter 5:7 NLT) Note the word *all* it doesn’t say, cast *some*, or cast *most*, but it says all, that means, the littlest thing, He cares about all of it. Still not convinced? Take a look at Matthew 6:28-34 ” 28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30 And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith? 31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will
we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God [a] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. 34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

From this scripture you can see, God will take every worry for us, even
down to what we wear. You see, God cares about everything, He will take care of us.

Earlier, I shared a quote, that I honestly believe was from God, I heard
Him whisper in my ear, “Space is big enough to boggle the human mind, yet small enough to fit in the palm of my hand.” If God can hold space, he can definitely hold little me and my (compared to Him) little problems, He’s got it. I need to quit worrying. I know, it’s a hard lesson to learn, and honestly, I’m still learning it, but, the more I pray, and the more I tell myself to give Him my problems, the more he gives me peace and tells me, “I’ve got it, it’s under control.”

What worry do you need to surrender to Him?

Leave a Reply

