Another testimony

by

I’ve gotten another testimony that someone has given me permission to share.  Enjoy :-).

My testimony is somewhat the normal… but it still is life-changing.

My family and I had just moved to Tulsa,OK, from Lancaster County, PA, in hopes of getting involved in full time ministry. I was two months to turning 6 so I was at the age where I could get scared by the dumbest things ever. I had watched the Veggie-Tales version of David and Goliath: Dave and the Giant Pickle. That night, the giant pickled haunted me in my dreams. He was chasing me around, fisting his boxing gloves madly. I woke up, terrified to go back to sleep. I called Mom in and, as we talked, I shared with her my desire to accept Jesus into my heart. Hand in hand, we walked down the Romans Road and she explained the seriousness of sin, the reason the Jesus had to die, God’s mercy and grace tempered with rightous justice, eternity and the Christian lif. She prayed with and that night, June 5, 2000, my name was written in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

I went on through life, reading my Bible, praying… playing the whole Christian charades. It wasn’t until I was around 11 that I learned that the Christian life includes whole-hearted responsibility. Also, I dealt a lot with guilt… how could God possibly love me after I mouthed my sister off? After I disrespected my parents? I talked to my dad about my struggle and he explained that God’s love and mercy is boundless. He is infinite in grace and forgiveness. Then he explained about baptism and the purpose for that. I didn’t understand everything about it, but I soaked it up still the same. I got baptized last year in April and it is still one of the most beautiful days of my life.

To this day, I have challenges facing me every moment of every day. I still struggle with guilt and the radical love of God that overcomes that. Do you ever stand in awe and wonder at the fact that God would rather die than to live without you? I do. It still amazes me that God would send His only Son down to live on a downtrodden earth full of sinful people… the very people that would call for His death. It wasn’t fair (for Him or for us) that Jesus had to come down from His heavenly home and pay our debt. He didn’t want to.

He didn’t have to.

He prayed three times, “Father, please don’t make me go through this!” But He chose to surrender to the will of God and die upon the cross, so that we could live under righteousness.

That’s the radical love of God.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Another testimony”

  1. History Maker Says:

    That’s an awesome testimony! PTL!

Leave a Reply

