Start of Evangelism series

by

Hey all! I’ve been given the privilege of starting off the evangelism series.

So, I’ve decided to start off with what I like to call love evangelism. This is a really big subject, but I feel like God has been laying this on my heart more and more.  I have been evangelizing to my friends for a while now, but it’s only recently that I’ve started thinking about using this style of evangelism.

I think you have to start with understanding that every person you meet is just that, a person. And what’s more, if they’re hurting they don’t want you to throw a bible at them. They want you to understand them.  And if you think about it, that’s what Jesus did. He didn’t go around telling people to repent and turn to Him, he loved them and made friends.

I believe that if you live for you life for Christ, and spend more time loving people than you do preaching at them, they will notice a difference, and want to know why you are different.  I’m not saying that you should never bring up the gospel, I’m simply saying that it might be better to start a relationship first.

This brings me to another point, when you do get into a “religious” discussion, you have to be careful not to bash the person or their beliefs. Nobody wants to be yelled at, and nobody really wants to be told they’re wrong. I had the best results when I took this approach. Instead of attacking my friend and his religion, I listened to what he believed and then showed him what I believe. This particular person believes in the Bible so, I showed him what he said, and what the Bible said. While I didn’t actually bring him to Christ, I believe God helped me to plant seeds.

I hope this has caused you to think about your approach to evangelism.

In Christ,

History Maker

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Start of Evangelism series”

  1. Greg Ryan Says:

    We have found it is best when the other person starts the conversation with a specific question. This is what we call a warm contact. This usually happens with people in your sphere of influence (friends, family, coworkers)

    We have a logo that helps start a conversation about Jesus, we teach people to live their life like a “normal” person and if someone asks about the logo, give your testimony or a tract.

    Evangelism is almost a 4-letter word to many believers and we believe people should evangelize Jesus every day, but try to speak only when spoken too. This may be a little too conservative but it shows respect to the non-believer. If you really want a specific person saved, pray everyday for that person’s salvation. That is a prayer God will answer.

    Prayer, Wear and Share that is what we teach and what we have found to be a very effective personal evangelism tool.

  2. History Maker Says:

    Thank you for your comment.

    At times it is a good idea to wait for the other person to start the conversation, but you don’t want to wait too long, because you never know what might happen to them. I believe that it’s a good idea to listen for opportunities, if you can find an “in” to talk about Jesus then it’s a good idea.

    I’m not saying that you should bash people over the head with the Bible, but we don’t’ need to be afraid of sharing either, the reality is people are going to hell and living miserable lives without Jesus, he said in Matthew “Go into all the world and preach the gospel.” It’s a God given command to evangelize. Yes, I do believe it’s a good idea to pray for people you want saved, but if you really want them saved, I think you should do something about it. You can sit in your room all you want, but it’s kind of hypocritical if you sit there and pray for God to save them without doing something to tell them about his mighty love.

    I believe your idea does work, but you have to use it in moderation.

Leave a Reply

