The importance of Scripture memory

by

Memorizing Scripture is an essential part of the Christian life.  It is even more essential to evangelism.  The Bible itself even says that it is a powerful tool for evangelism.  Isaiah 55:10-11 says, “As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish,so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”  The purpose of God’s Word is to draw people to Jesus.  If we use it, it will accomplish that purpose.  But honestly, who carries their Bible with them wherever they go?  I’m sure that it wouldn’t be a bad idea, but sometimes that could be impractical.  Therefore, in order for us to use the Bible in evangelism, and in order to be ready at all times, we need to memorize God’s Word.

Besides being ready to use Scripture in your evangelism, Scripture can also help us fight temptation.  The Psalmist says in Psalm 119:11, “I have hidden Your Word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”  Besides the obvious reason of sin essentially being spitting in the face of God, we need to not sin so we can be a good witness to those around us.  If you do things that you know are wrong and don’t hold yourself to higher standards, it could seriously hurt your ability to witness to those around you, and it could also distort people’s view of Christianity.  Therefore, we must hide God’s Word in our hearts.

In Christ,

Matt

Side Note:  I have recently discovered a great event called the National Bible Bee.  It is a Scripture knowledge and memory competition.  You can get more information about it here, though the deadline for this year is past: http://www.biblebee.org.  Also, there is a tool for Scripture memorization at http://www.memorizehisword.com.  These are great tools and motivators for Scripture memory!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The importance of Scripture memory”

  1. davenporter Says:

    You are right! It is essential to memorize Scripture! I just thought I’d mention, though, that I carry around a little ESV Bible wherever I go, and it even has a concordance so that I can find the verses I need quickly. This isn’t to diminish the importance of Scripture memory, but man, it’s helpful for evangelism to always have an actual Bible on hand, so you can SHOW them the Scriptures, so they can base their response on, “Oh, this is actually something God has said and put in the Bible, not just something someone is claiming the Bible says.”

    Thanks for the reminder, though – I’m sure we can all use encouragement as far as memorizing Scripture goes. If you haven’t read Brother Yun’s The Heavenly Man, you should, because his testimony of Scripture memorization puts us all to shame!

  2. teens4evangelism Says:

    Very true, Matt. That is something I really need to (and am trying) do more. Thanks for posting. =)

    J.J.

Leave a Reply

