I Have A Confession

by

Today I’d like to make a confession.

I used to witness.

That’s right. I used to.

I would go out and hand out tracks just about every day. This went on for some time. God blessed my spirit with joy and I was content with life and myself. For some strange reason, I stopped. Oh, it’s been a few years since that period of my life. I’ve started ad stopped again here and there: I’ve even led a few people to the Lord since then. But I’ve not been able to say, with Paul, “This one thing I do…”.

I regret falling out of a good habit. But God has been merciful, even when I’ve flat out told him, “NO!”. I joined this blog hoping to be a blessing to others. And I sincerely hope that I am.

But I have another agenda.

Perhaps, writing here about witnessing, I’ll actually have to witness! What hypocrite would write about evangelism and then not go out and do it, right?

The only problem is, I’m a wimp. I mean, who actually has the guts to go out and tell completely random strangers about Jesus? That’s got to be the most offensive name of the Age. People look down at their feet and awkwardly kick the dust when you bring up that name. People will do that little breathing-out-their-nose thing and shake their heads when you mention Him. They’ll roll their eyes and look at you like some sort of idiot when you talk about the Lord.

Be not afraid of their faces: for I am with thee to deliver thee, saith the LORD.

Oh, yeah… The book of Jeremiah says we shouldn’t fear man’s face: that we shouldn’t be afraid of rejection. After all, they’re not really rejecting us, are they? They’re really rejecting Christ. That’s what He says.

So, there: I said it. I need to be a witness for Christ more than I am now. I hope you’ll help me with this.

Anthony

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

